New APS Board Members Take Oath of Office
Posted on 12/07/2023
Two new APS Board of Education members and one returning member are sworn in together.

The newly-elected members of the Aurora Public Schools Board of Education were officially sworn in on December 5. Re-elected Board member Vicki Reinhard and new members Tiffany Tasker and Danielle Tomwing took the oath of office together.

Aurora Public Schools is excited to welcome the new Board members who will serve our district’s students, families, staff and community alongside Board members Debra Gerkin, Michael Carter, Tramaine Duncan and Anne Keke.

Following the new members being sworn in, the Board elected new officers. Anne Keke will serve as Board President, Michael Carter as Vice President, Danielle Tomwing as Secretary and Tiffany Tasker as Treasurer. 

The APS Board of Education is a group of citizens elected by voters to provide leadership and establish policies for the school district. The seven-member board is elected at-large. Members serve four-year terms.

Board meetings are generally held on the first and third Tuesdays of each month at 6 p.m. All meetings are open to the public. To view Board meetings live, the latest news, agendas, minutes, calendars and more, visit

Aurora Public Schools expresses deep gratitude to outgoing Board members Stephanie Mason and Nichelle Ortiz for their years of hard work and dedication to our students, families, staff and community members.